Review: I Don’t Have a Happy Place: Cheerful Stories of Despondency and Gloom

i-dont-have-a-happy-place-9781476740263_hr

ARC for review. Purchase I Don’t Have a Happy Place: Cheerful Stories of Despondency and Gloom on [Amazon] and [B&N]

ARC from NetGalley:

“I Don’t Have a Happy Place” is one of those books you get, not really knowing what you’re in for. The book’s content is directly in its title: “Cheerful Stories of Despondency and Gloom,” and yet that doesn’t really prepare you for what you get: darkly funny, sometimes morbid, sometimes sad, tales of life. Kim Korson’s voice is dry and matter-of-fact, and that alone makes some of the more out-there lines hilarious (one of my favorites comes from ‘Be Careful Out There’ – “If a bad guy were to come all the way up 128 stairs to disembowel me, it would be because he was looking for me specifically”).

Perhaps I enjoyed “I Don’t Have a Happy Place” so much because I do have a dark sense of humor, in addition to suffering from depression, so there were many events and lines of the book which had me chuckling or outright laughing.

I admit I knew nothing of Kim Korson when I first requested the book- it was in fact the title which caught my eye. However, after reading  “I Don’t Have a Happy Place…” I will definitely be looking out for more of Korson’s work in the future. Her voice is a refreshing dip into murky waters, and I mean that in the best possible way!

Thank you to Gallery Books and NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to review.

Originally posted on GoodReads.

Leave a Reply

